SpaceyIdeas.Com
Robert Osband-N4SCY
Computerist

SpaceyIdeas.Com


Spaceyideas.Com/ozzie
Robert@Osband.US
SpaceLaunchInfo.Com/faq.html
SpaceyIdeas.Com
Phone:(3-2-1)Liftoff
+1 321 543-8633

2011 August 08


Dear Web Visitor,

Have you gotten a Spam e-mail that is apparently from a user at Osband.US? I can assure you that it was NOT sent from a user at my Domain. How do I know?

Recently I've been getting "bounce" messages from mail-daemons telling me that an e-mail sent from an e-mail address that was apparently from my domain was undeliverable. What it told me is that some spammer is putting random usernames in front of "@Osband.US" in the From field of spam they are sending, and shipping it out into the internet.

Here's a list of some of the Return Addresses on those e-mails:


	"MICHELE" <gubenecknimg@osband.us>
	"JOANNE" <gubenecknimg@osband.us>
	"LESLIE" <hoeaduquikll@osband.us>
	"APRIL" <hoeaduquikll@osband.us>
	umysdzfibqprak@osband.us
	"DANIELLE" <qabizkfb@osband.us>
	"ALICIA" <qabizkfb@osband.us>
	"VALERIE" <qabizkfb@osband.us>
	"JOANNE" <qabizkfb@osband.us>
     
Notice that the last four have the same e-mail address within the anglebrackets, but were sent by different "user names". The top two have matching names as well.

osband.US is one of my personal web sites. I have very few e-mail users on Osband.US. None of the Users shown above are people who have e-mail addresses here, which is why the "bounce" message came to me as the "catch-all" e-mail addressee on the Domain.

If you have any information on who actually sent the spam by impersonating users on my Domain, please let me know. I would like to seek damages from the perpetrators who have "forged" return addresses from Osband.US

Thank you for your interest in this matter.
  Ozzie
Robert Osband
Computerist

Copies of this document can be printed out from http://Osband.US/spam.html